Machine Learning and (Quantum) Physics Workshop, Obergurgl

Workshop in Obergurgl, April 9-15 2023.


April 9th – 15th 2023

  • All day event.
  • Universitätszentrum Obergurgl
  • 6456 Obergurgl, Gaisbergweg 5

The goal of the workshop is to bring together (quantum) physics and machine learning in its broadest sense and explore novel possibilities for tasks varying from designing and setting up experimental investigations, extracting information from data to creating new theoretical understanding.

The audience will span a wide spectrum from PhD students and postdocs to established researchers, from quantum experiments to theory and information science. We aim to combine the expertise and build a foundation from where to understand and develop a better understanding what neural networks and Machine learning quantum can bring to physics and the understanding and control of complex quantum many body systems. This workshop is intended to jumpstart a new collaborative project and we hope to bridge the different fields involved and to bring them to a common language.

Registration is now closed. If you filled the Google form then you are confirmed as a participant.

Confirmed Speakers

  • Iris Agresti, University of Vienna
  • Sabine Andergassen, TU Wien
  • Natalia Ares, University of Oxford
  • Andrew Briggs, University of Oxford
  • Tommaso Calarco, Forschungszentrum Jülich
  • Xavier Coiteux-Roy, TU Munich
  • Lídia Del Rio, ETH Zurich
  • Zakari Denis, EPFL
  • Sebastian Erne, TU Wien Atominstitut
  • Elies Gil Fuster, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Carlos Ruiz Gonzalez, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light
  • Zoë Holmes, EPFL
  • Miroslav Ježek, Palacky University Olomouc
  • Maciej Koch-Janusz, Univeristy of Zurich
  • Johannes Kofler, Johannes Kepler University
  • Mario Krenn, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light
  • Richard Küng, Johannes Kepler University
  • Yevhenii Kuriatnikov, TU Wien
  • Jose Lado, Aalto University
  • Edward Laird, Lancaster University
  • Florian Marquardt, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light
  • Gorka Muñoz-Gil, University of Innsbruck
  • Hendrik Poulsen Nautrup, University of Innsbruck
  • Maximilian Prüfer, TU Wien Atominstitut
  • Stefan Rotter, TU Wien
  • Carlos Ruiz Gonzalez, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light
  • Markus Schmitt, Forschungszentrum Jülich
  • Agnes Valenti, ETH
  • Dominik Vasinka, Palacky University Olomouc
  • Markus Wallerberger, TU Wien


  • Jörg Schmiedmayer, TU Wien Atominstitut
  • Marcus Huber, TU Wien Atominstitut & IQOQI
  • Yelena Guryanova, IQOQI
  • Paul Erker, TU Wien Atominstitut & IQOQI
  • Tomasz Andrzejewski, TU Wien Atominstitut


Write to us at tomasz.andrzejewski@tuwien.ac.at with any questions or feedback.